Launch of the 2011 Ethnic Business Awards

Calling on Businesses and Individuals to Nominate –



ustralia's longest running awards recognising diversity in business – the Ethnic Business Awards - were launched last Wednesday.

In its 23rd year, the prestigious national awards were launched at a special event in Sydney featuring some of the country's brightest business and media personalities.

"These awards are Australia's preeminent awards in recognition of our nation's diversity and the role this plays in driving business success and innovation," said Awards founder, Mr Joseph Assaf.

"Businesses and individuals who nominate stand a chance of gaining recognition before a potential audience of tens of millions of people throughout Australia and Asia.'

The Ethnic Business Awards recognise Australians from diverse cultural and ethnic backgrounds who have achieved success in business. The Awards comprise two core categories:

Small Business (with a turnover less than or equal to \$5 million per annum)

Medium to Large Business (with a turnover greater than \$5 million per annum)

Entrants for these categories must be either Australian Citizens or Permanent Residents born overseas.

A third category exists for Indigenous Australians making their mark in business - the 'Indigenous in Business' Award. The Indigenous in Business Award is regarded as the first nationwide business award for Indigenous Australians.

Winners will share in cash and prizes including \$10,000 for individual category winners from the founding partner and major sponsor - National Australia Bank.

Nomination criteria and applications can be found at www.ethnicbusinessawards.com

Mr Joseph Healy Group Executive, Business Banking, NAB, said the bank was pleased to support the Awards as they went from strength to strength.

"NAB's 23 year sponsorship of the



Anne DeSallis - Sheba Nandkeolyar - Multicall - Kate Keenan - NAB

Ethnic Business Awards reflect our long term commitment to supporting Australian business and enterprise," Mr Healy said.

"Our diverse communities are key to

the strength of the Australian economy and we are delighted to once again be supporting them and celebrating their achievements through these awards."

A gala event and award ceremony

tel In Sydney on 7th November 2011, and be telecast nationally and internationally.

Nominations and award winners will be judged by an expert panel including:

Don Argus AO AC

-former Chairman of BHP Billiton

Eve Crestani - Chairman of Mercer's Trustee Company

Joseph Elu AO is the current Mayor of the NPA Regional Council

Allan Gyngell - Director-General of the Office of National Assessments

Dr Ziggy Switkowski

- former chief executive of Telstra, Optus and Kodak

Carla Zampatti AC AM

- Australia's famous Fashion pioneer



(LtoR) Candace Lazarus NAB - Jaap Jonkman NAB - Joseph Assaf EBA



Joseph Assaf - EBA



Jaap Jonkman - NAB