

and language to the rest of the world. The documentary included pictures of various parts of Greece in pristine locations and conditions. This computerised journey had the audience mesmerised by its presentation, its content, its narration and its images.

The Vote of Thanks was given by a specially awarded educator. This was Ms Marjory Ellsmore, retired Principal since December 2008, from the NSW Department of Education's well established Saturday School of Community Languages (SSCL). Ms Ellsmore was recognized by the AHEA with the presentation of a Special Hellenic Award and gift for her efforts as a Languages teacher, as a Senior Curriculum Advisor (Deputy Principal) and until recently as a Principal for her support for Greek language programs at various Saturday School of Community Language centres. Her support though extended to the approval of Greek language trips of Saturday School students to Greece periodically and in particular to Crete under the aegis of the "Paedia Omogenon" program ("Educating Greeks Abroad program") which also resulted in 2007 with the winning entry from all other Greek Diaspora countries, of the Greek students from Australia and the SSCL for their theatrical presentation "Reflections". Ms Ellsmore pivoted her talk around the value of learning Greek and its maintenance in the Australian community whilst reflecting on her own language methodologies and her appreciation of languages in general.

The sponsors were thanked by A-HEA President Dr Panayiotis Diamadis one by one, as without them, the awards would be an impossibility as he said characteristically. The sponsors included AHEPA (Australian Hellenic Education Progressive Association) Education Committee; GAPA (Greek Australian Professionals Association); Christina Tsatsoulis' Chemmart Pharmary at Earlwood, Menia Kyriacou's Carlton Patisserie'; Kosta Pimenidis 'Thessaloniki Cake Shop' at Dulwich Hill; Plataneon Association of the Peloponnese with their special 'Kostas Makris' award in honour of their late active committee member; the Greek National Tourist Office; the Greek Education Attache of the Consulate General of Greece; World Council of Hellenes Abroad; www.greekcity.com.au; www.gapa.com.au; SBS Greek Radio Program, "Kosmos" Greek newspaper, "Hellenic Herald" Greek newspaper, 2MM 24 hour Greek 24 Radio Station and others.

At the end of the one and a half hour

ceremony, the AHEA played host to the awardees and the guests with some Greek hospitality including tsoureki cake, baklava and other sweets. The next randez-vous for the 2010 Hellenic Language Awards was made known to be at another tertiary venue in Autumn next year. Those wishing to contact the Australian Hellenic Educators' Association for any related issue may do so at its postal address: P.O. Box 289, Dulwich Hill 2203 or via email: nswmgta@yahoo.com.au.

Following is a table of the 2009 Hellenic Language Awards Recipients:

### "PHEVOS" AWARDS

Greek Language Provider Stu-

Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Australia-

Greek Orthodox Church and Parish of Sutherland and District "Saint Stylianos" Afternoon Greek Schools

Danae Kefallinou

Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Australia-Colleges-

All Saints' Greek Orthodox Grammar, South Belmore

Anastasia Tsangari Independent Greek Schools-

Aristotelis Greek Afternoon Schools Stavroula Bessis

Greek Orthodox Community NSW-

Greek Afternoon School of Coogee Stefanie Fahmy

NSW Department of Education: **Drummoyne Primary School** Alexandra



### "ATHENA" AWARDS

2008 HSC Modern Greek Beginners Rank Student

George Thomakos

Stepanie Cappas

Dimitra Skalkos

Kyriakos Dramountanis

Dimitri Alexander Theodoulou

## **2008 HSC Modern Greek Continuers**

Rank Student

Equal 1st Sophie Christodoulou Equal 1st John Voukelatos Themelina Atsas 3rd

4th George Roditis Vivian Galanis 5th

The following students were not placed on the Board of Studies Top Achievers in Course list and have been listed alphabetically:

Student

Christiana Efthymiou

Angela Epsimaris

Despina Fandakis

Barbara Iordanidis

Bill Koutsoukos

**Dimitrios Margiolis** 

Elena Mavromoustakos Demetri Nikolias

Christopher Papadopoulos

Krystal Parisis

Iason Raychanovski

Anna Elly Samaras

Penny Sarantis

Nicholas Vasili Angellia Young

# 2008 HSC Modern Greek





## **Extension**

Rank Student

Sophie Christodoulou 1st Themelina Atsas 2nd Equal 3rd Christiana Efthymiou Equal 3rd Iason Raychanovski John Voukelatos 5th

The following students were not placed on the Board of Studies Top Achievers in Course list and have been listed alphabetically:

Student

Angela Epsimaris Vivian Galanis

Demetri Nikolias

George Roditis Penny Sarantis

# **2008 HSC Classical Greek Continuers**

Rank Student

Thomas Vallance

2nd Benjamin Pope

Equal 3rd **Emmanuel Marinos** Equal 3rd Matthew Menzies

Kosmas Kokkinos 5th

### 2008 HSC Classical Greek **Extension**

Rank Student

Thomas Vallance

Benjamin Pope

**Emmanuel Marinos** 

Matthew Menzies

Alexander William Thompson

#### "ALEXANDER THE GREAT" **AWARDS**

2008 HSC Ancient History

Rank Student Timothy Robin Craven

2nd including Hellenic option (3rd overall) Constantina Zafiropoulos

3rd including Hellenic option (4th overall) Dominic Francis Ofner

4th including Hellenic option (8th overall) Madeline Hall

5th including Hellenic option (9th overall) Alison Monique Witchard

6th including Hellenic option (10th overall) Flora Jane Ellen Grant

7th including Hellenic option (13th overall) Stephanie Rachel Liu

8th including Hellenic option (15th overall) Anneliese Hannah Franklin

9th including Hellenic option (Equal 17th overall) Keeley Allen

10th including Hellenic option (Equal 17th overall) Wendy Mai

11th including Hellenic option (E-Amelia Smit qual 20th overall)

# "SOCRATES" AWARDS

Provider Student

The University of Sydney - Modern Greek Kalliopi Pantoulis

The University of New South Wales-Modern Greek Fladi Myrteza

Macquarie University - Modern Greek Mary Constanti

Macquarie University - Classical Greek Duncan Hickey

Macquarie University - Olympic Games Sophia Spiroglou

Macquarie University - Heroes and Heroines Evan Jewell

Workers Education Association (WEA) Greek classes Yasmin Drougas

Eastern Suburbs Evening College Greek classes Louise Seeder

#### "KOSMAS O AITOLOS" **AWARDS**

Educator Provider

**NSW** Department of Education

Ms Irene Xenos

Greek Afternoon Schools' Teacher Ms Stefania Angelou

Greek Afternoon Schools' Teacher

Ms Chrysoula Giannaros

NSW Department of Education

Ms Marjory Ellsmore "The 2009 Special Hellenic Award"

# "KOSTIS PALAMAS" **AWARDS**

The University of Sydney - Modern Greek Kalliopi Pantoulis

The University of New South Wales-Modern Greek Fladi Myrteza

Macquarie University - Modern Greek Mary Constanti