Web Savvy Seniors save with e-newsletters

More than 100,000 NSW Seniors Card holders have subscribed to the monthly Seniors Card e-newsletter to receive advance notice of new discount providers, special offers, competitions and other money saving tips.

As well, half of new Seniors Card members - or more than 2,000 - are registering every month.

President of the Australian Seniors Computer Clubs Association, Nan Bosler OAM, has encouraged all Seniors Card holders to register by providing their email address.

"In the current economic climate, enewsletters are the quickest way for seniors to make the most of the latest specials and discount offers from more than 2,500 Seniors Card Business Partners," she said.

"The monthly e-newsletter provides invaluable money saving information as well as information on travel, gardening, finance, health and much more", she said.

Existing Seniors Card members can subscribe to the e-newsletter by visiting www.seniorscard.nsw.gov.au to enter their email address and Seniors Card number, or they can call NSW Seniors Card on 1300 364 758.

The NSW Government introduced the Seniors Card program in 1992 to encourage older people to enjoy an active and healthy retirement.

Seniors Card now has more than 930,000 members. It is free to join, is not assetstested and does not require people to disclose their income. To qualify, people must be permanent residents of NSW, aged 60 or over and work no more than 20 hours a week in paid employment.

The card provides members with access to NSW Government funded public transport concessions and discounts from thousands of Business Partners.





PREMIER TURNS SOD FOR **NEW BLUETONGUE BREWERY**

Premier Nathan Rees turned the first sod for the new \$120 million Bluetongue **Brewery** Warnervale on the Central Coast. Mr Rees was joined by representatives from Pacific Beverages, the Minister for the Hunter Jodi McKay and Member for Wyong David Harris to mark the start of construction.

Mr Rees said that the NSW Government has given approval for Pacific Beverages to build the \$120 million Bluetongue Brewery, with a production capacity of up to 100 million litres of beer a year.

"The Brewery will be the state's second largest brewery employing 150 people at capacity," Mr Rees

said. "There will also be 200 jobs during construction which is a fantastic boost for the local economy.

"This development is a huge boost for the businesses and the people of Wyong and the Central Coast and Hunter regions, providing jobs and investment, and is a great vote of confidence by Pacific Beverages, Coca- Cola Amatil and SAB Miller in NSW.

"The Brewery will eventually become a leading tourist attraction in the region, featuring a visitors' centre, beer-tasting, cellar door facilities and brewery tours."

The 10 hectare site for the new brewery is in the newly-created Wyong Employment Zone, 100 kilometres north of Sydney and 50 kilometres south of Newcastle.

Premier Nathan Rees gave the green light to the major industrial precinct last month. The 709 hectare Wyong Employment Zone has the capacity to generate 6,000 new jobs.

"The Wyong Employment Zone is to be a major step in delivering our policy of 'Jobs Closer to Home," Mr Rees said.

"Currently, more than one third of residents commute outside the region for work.

"This zone, which will bring an estimated \$1.9 billion of new investment, will generate thousands of jobs closer to home."

New appointments to Migration and Refugee Review Tribunals

The Minister for Immigration and Citizenship, Senator Chris Evans, today announced the appointment of five Senior Members to the Migration Review Tribunal (MRT) and the Refugee Review Tribunal (RRT).

"In accordance with the new merit and transparency guidelines on statutory office holders issued by the Australian Public Service Commission, I chose not to exercise my option to simply re-appoint current members," Senator Evans said.

"My decision to test the field, rather than re-appoint current members as has occurred in previous years, opened the process to the best possible candidates and has ensured a fair and robust selection process."

The five successful applicants were unanimously selected through a merit-based process by a panel consisting of Mr Andrew Metcalfe, Secretary of the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (chair), Mr Denis O'Brien, Principal Member of the Tribunals, Ms Lynne Tacy, then Deputy Australian Public Service Commissioner and Ms Carmel Guerra, Chief Executive Officer, Centre for Multicultural Youth.

"Each of the successful applicants demonstrated a strong sense of fairness and understanding of the principles of administrative law and the ability to apply these skills in determining review applications," Senator Evans said.

"I have endorsed the appointment of the five senior members recommended by the selection panel and look forward to their contribution to the tribunals.

"Their qualifications and experience will ensure the effective delivery of review decisions.'

The following people have been appointed to the tribunals: Mr Giles Short, Dr Irene O'Connell, Ms Amanda MacDonald, Ms Linda Kirk and Mr Peter Murphy.

All have been appointed for five years commencing on 1 January 2009 and ending on 31 December 2013. Three of the appointees are currently serving on the

Further information about the role of the tribunals can be obtained from the tribunals' website: www.mrtrrt.gov.au

Leader of the Government in the Senate Minister for Immigration and Citizenship