

ABN 71 104 900 290

AJ Glass & Aluminium NSW Pty Ltd

10 Emily Street Mortlake NSW 2137

Ph: (02) 9736 2386 Fax: (02) 9736 2346 Mob: 0410 523 840

Email: aj55122@bigpond.net.au

Aldo Di Mento Director



SportsWorld

With LAKIS KONISTIS

PLATINI LINES UP EURO 2012 HOSTS

UEFA President Michel Platini has publicly criticised both Poland and the Ukraine for their lack of progress in preparing to host Euro 2012.

Platini has visited Poland and Ukraine and warned officials that they risked losing the right to stage the event if their stadiums and infrastructure were not ready.

A progress report is expected to point out that there has been some improvement and stop short of recommending that UEFA withdraw Poland's and Ukraine's right to host the tournament.

"The report will be critical. But it is still too early for the committee to make a decision to take Euro 2012 away from the two countries," one UEFA official said.

EURO 24 TEAMS BY 2016

In other news, the Executive Committee of soccer's governing body looks set however to endorse an expansion of the European Championship Finals to 24 teams (from 16).

Expansion of the European Championship finals to 24 teams from 2016 is expected to be agreed after senior officials of all 53 UEFA member nations backed the idea in June, despite criticism that it could dilute the quality of the event.

QATAR PETROLEUM DEAL

AFC President Mohamed Bin Hammam has hailed a US\$10-million sponsorship deal with Qatar Petroleum that covers the 2011 Asian Cup in Doha, Qatar.

Qatar Petroleum signed the agreement with World Sports Group, the AFC's commercial partners.

FURTHER A-LEAGUE EXPANSION?

The Hyundai A-League is set to expand further with confirmation that Football Federation Australia (FFA) has granted exclusive negotiation status to a consortium for a second team based in Melbourne for entry into the Hyundai A-League in 2010-11.

FFA CEO Ben Buckley said that the consortium is led by Melbourne businessman, Peter Sidwell. "We received two very high quality proposals for the second Melbourne license, and we had very good discussions with both consortia. We were very impressed with the professionalism and strength of both bids," said Buckley.

The other proposal came from a consortium known as Southern Cross FC.

Buckley reiterated the FFA's earlier view that, ultimately, the Hyundai A-League has the capacity to be

at least a 12 team competition and possibly 14 teams.

"When and where we expand the competition is measured simply by whether it is right for football, right for the existing Hyundai A-League clubs, right for the new clubs and right for the local community," Buckley said.

NATIONAL YOUTH LEAGUE UP AND RUNNING

Social commentators say Generation Y wants it all right now - so Football Federation Australia (FFA) has delivered them a league of their own.

In what FFA CEO, Ben Buckley, described as a "very exciting" development for football, the new National Youth League debuted last weekend.

Talented young players again have an opportunity to play regular, quality competitive games regardless of whether they are part of the AIS program, the State sports institutes or the State football leagues.

There is also a clear link with the Hyundai A-League, as well as the various national teams in football at Under 17, Under 20, Under 23 levels, and the Qantas Socceroos.

The National Youth League comprises teams from each of the seven current Australian Hyundai A-League teams. The National Youth League provides players aged between 17-21 years of age a clear pathway from youth leagues to senior level and then on to professional level. When combined with existing S-tate-based competitions, players in the national youth league will play between 35-40 games each year.

STROGYLOS TO SOAR WITH JETS

Ex-Sydney Olympic youth player George Strogylos has been signed by the Newcastle Jets' as part of their youth squad for season 2008-2009.

Strogylos, who has already represented Australia at Joeys level (U17's) is very much looking forward to showing his talent in Newcastle.

He is definitely one player to watch out for in the new National Youth League competition.

ERREA OLYMPIC SPONSORS AGAIN

Sydney Olympic FC and ERREA have continued their partnership by extending their relationship by a further 3 years to season ending 2011.

This will mean season 2009 will be the fourth year of their close working partnership.

President of Sydney Olympic FC Mr Kospetas was pleased to announce the extension. "The service we receive is second to none, in terms of quality it goes without saying that the ERREA products are far superior to what we have had historically.

"We are pleased to further extend our relation with George Aliferis and his team."

Managing Director of Sport Plus Sports, the Australasian Distributors of Errea George Aliferis was pleased with the continued partnership.

"We have built a close relationship with the team at Sydney Olympic. As a young boy I can remember many high profile players wearing the blue and white. It's a pleasure to work with Mr Kospetas and his team and be able to provide world quality products that make the players, parents and spectators proud to wear ERREA products."

GOLD MEDAL WINNERS 2008

2008 Gold Medal Winner -Sutherland Sharks' Brendan Gan

Sutherland's Brendan Gan was the winner of this year's Gold Medal after a great season he enjoyed with the Sharks. He was just one point ahead of Apia's ace striker Robbie Younis who was runner-up.

Sydney Olympic's Peter Zorbas was in third place.

The first award for the night actually went to the Macarthur Rams who won the FIFA Fair Play Award.

The Under 20's Golden Boot award was won by Marconi Stallions' Brodie Mooy (15 goals). The youngster is now a part of the Newcastle Jets' youth team squad for season 2008-2009.

The Andreas Golden Boot award was won by A.P.I.A.-Leichhardt Tigers' Robert Younis (21 goals). He tooo is with A-League side Adelaide United.

Sydney Olympic was then presented the Club Championship Award for season 2008.

Referee Jonathan Streater picked up the Referee of the Year award.

The Errea Goalkeeper of the Year Award was won by A.P.I.A.-Leichhardt Tigers' Matthew Nash- who won the award for the second consecutive season. He too has been snapped up by A-League club Central Coast Mariners.

The Coach of the Year award was won by Sutherland Sharks' Brian 'Bomber' Brown.

A Football NSW "All-Stars" team was also announced and the 11 players chosen in the team were:

The inaugural 2008 Football NSW All Star team was as follows:

- 1 Matthew Nash (A.P.I.A.-Leichhardt Tigers)
- 2 Emmanuel Zunino (Sydney Olympic)
- 3 Pedj Bojic (Sutherland Sharks)
- 4 Danial Cummins (Wollongong FC) 5 Shane Webb (Bankstown City Lions)
- 6 Nahuel Arrarte (Marconi Stallions)
- 7 Robbie Cattanach (Manly United)
- 8 Brendan Gan (Sutherland Sharks)
 9 Christopher Boyle (Sydney United)
- 10 Robert Younis (A.P.I.A.-Leichhardt Tigers)
- 11 Bradley Boardman (Sutherland Sharks)
- Coach: Brian Brown (Sutherland Sharks)

